Follow us on


2024 AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Architectural Education winner Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk. Photo: DPZ CoDesign, image courtesy ACSA/AIA.

2024 AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Architectural Education winner Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk. Photo: DPZ CoDesign, image courtesy ACSA/AIA.

The recipients of the 2024 Architectural Education Awards have been announced by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) in recognition of their contributions to teaching and scholarship at ACSA-accredited schools in the United States and Canada. 

The group was led by this year’s Topaz Medalist, University of Miami professor Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, who was previously announced in conjunction with the American Institute of Architects, along with the Whitney M. Young, Jr. and Edward C. Kemper Award recipients in early December.

She was joined by the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign’s Lynne Dearborn and University of Maryland faculty member Mohammad Gharipour, who were named the winners of the Distinguished Professor Award. A total of seven individual award winners were granted alongside another seven category awards for Diversity Achievement, Creative Achievement, Collaborative Practice, Faculty Design, Design-Build, Practice + Leadership, and Housing Design Education.

The program also included winners of the annual Journal of Architectural Education (JAE) Award and the Technology | Architecture + Design (TAD) Research Contribution Award.

Here is the full list of winners in their respective categories:

AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion

  • Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk | University of Miami

Distinguished Professor Award

  • Lynne Dearborn | University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Mohammad Gharipour | University of Maryland

AIAS/ACSA New Faculty Teaching Award

  • Gillian Shaffer Lutsko | University of Southern California (Part-time faculty)
  • Lukas Pauer | University of Toronto
  • Robert Williams | University of Massachusetts Amherst

Diversity Achievement Award

  • Blind Design Workshop: Advancing Inclusivity with Non-Visual Pedagogy
    Andrew Gipe-Lazarou | Virginia Tech
  • An Architectural Imaginary of Identity and Exclusion: Drawing Out the Legacies of Japanese American Designers after WWII Incarceration
    Kelley Murphy | Washington University in St. Louis
  • Critical-Pathways
    Suzanne Lettieri | Cornell University (Honorary Mention)

Creative Achievement Award

  • Serious Play: Reimagining Children’s Playscapes
    Joseph Altshuler | University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • The Activated Atlas
    Erin Kasimow | University of Southern California
  • Making Space for Community – Learning from Collective Living as a Basis for Designing Policy
    Antje Steinmuller | California College of the Arts
    Neeraj Bhatia | California College of the Arts

Collaborative Practice Award

  • Home for Alice
    John Folan | University of Arkansas and Urban Design Build Studio (UDBS)
    Candice Adams | University of Arkansas
  • ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Campus: Architecture for Indigenous Language Revitalization and Normalization
    Karla Sierralta | University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
    Brian Strawn | University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
  • Bears Ears Education Center Outdoor Classroom
    Elpitha Tsoutsounakis | University of Utah
  • Crafting a Collaborative Curriculum: The Design Build Initiative
    Michael Hughes | American University of Sharjah
    William Sarnecky | American University of Sharjah
    Gregory Spaw | American University of Sharjah
    Ammar Kalo | American University of Sharjah
    Patrick Rhodes | American University of Sharjah
    Kenneth Tracy | American University of Sharjah
    Juan Roldán | American University of Sharjah
    Marcus Farr | American University of Sharjah
    George Newlands | American University of Sharjah
    Camilo Cerro | American University of Sharjah
    Jason Carlow | American University of Sharjah
    Daniel Chavez | Scarab Design
    Emily Baker | University of Arkansas
    Matt Trimble | Scenic City Nomads

Faculty Design Award

    Brittany Utting | Rice University
    Daniel Jacobs | University of Houston
  • Aging Against the Machine
    Neeraj Bhatia | California College of the Arts
    Ignacio González Galán | Barnard College
    Karen Kubey | University of Toronto
  • Susan’s House, design for a new typology
    Mary English | Auburn University
    Xavier Vendrell | Auburn University
  • Contested Circumpolar: Domestic Territories
    Mason White | University of Toronto
    Kearon Roy Taylor | University of Toronto
    Matthew Jull | University of Virginia
    Leena Cho | University of Virginia
    Lola Sheppard | University of Waterloo

Design-Build Award

  • The Mizer’s Ruin
    Jason Griffiths | University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • The Hip-Hop Xpress: Double Dutch Boom Bus
    Kevin Erickson | University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Moscow Chamber of Commerce and Visitor Center
    Scott Lawrence | University of Idaho
  • A Stop Worth Waiting For: Transit in Service of the Public Good
    Julia Lindgren | University of Texas at Arlington

AIA/ACSA Practice + Leadership Award

  • Professional Horizons
    Hans Herrmann | Mississippi State University
    Thomas Kligerman | Design Leadership Foundation
    Abbey Franovich | Mississippi State University
    Ashley Studdard-Hughes | Mississippi State University
  • Relocalize Our Food
    Courtney Crosson | University of Arizona & Drachman Institute (Honorable Mention)

AIA/ACSA Housing Design Education Award

  • Denver Low-Rise: New Domestic Forms of Collective Living
    José Ibarra | University of Colorado Denver
    Leyuan Li | University of Colorado Denver
  • Housing Connecticut: Designing Healthy and Sustainable Neighborhoods
    Andrei Harwell | Yale University
    Alan Plattus | Yale University
    Anika Singh-Lemar | Yale University
    Kate Cooney | Yale University
    Elise Barker Limon | Yale University
  • Not for Sale! – Housing Education at the Intersection of Activism, Architecture, and Advocacy
    Adrian Blackwell | University of Waterloo
    Matthew Soules | University of British Columbia

JAE Article Awards

  • Essay Award
    Spatializing Reparations: Mapping Reparative Futures
    Danika Cooper | University of California, Berkeley
  • Design Essay Award
    Attending to Unbuilding: The One Tree Project
    Jesse Vogler | Free University of Tbilisi
    Ken Botnick | Independent Scholar
    Alisa Blatter | Washington University in St. Louis
  • Narrative Award
    Worship the Lift Engineer
    Jordan Whitewood-Neal | University of Brighton

TAD Research Contribution Award

  • Article from Volume VI
    Decoding the Architectural Genome: Multi-Objective Evolutionary Algorithms in Design

    Mohammed Makki | University of Technology Sydney

    Diego Navarro-Mateu | Universitat Internacional de Catalunya

    Milad Showkatbakhsh | Architectural Association
  • Article from Volume VI
    Neural Image Classifiers for Historical Building Elements and Typologies
    Andrew Witt | Harvard University
    Eunu Kim | Trimble, Inc.

Some current competitions on Bustler that may interest you…

Iceland Ski Snow Cabin

Register by Wed, Apr 17, 2024

Submit by Wed, May 29, 2024

MOA Design and Build Student Competition- “Land Art: Celestial Architecture”

Register/Submit by Sun, Apr 21, 2024

150,000€ Kingspan’s MICROHOME

Register by Mon, Apr 29, 2024

Submit by Thu, May 30, 2024

The Underbridge Housing Challenge

Register by Tue, Apr 16, 2024

Submit by Tue, May 28, 2024